top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureKyle Phoenix

What are some examples of contraband in prison? #KylePhoenix

Updated: Nov 26, 2019











They came into my cell, hardcore SWAT team style. Dressed exactly like the pic above. I immediately climbed from my bed to my desk. I was standing on top of my desk holding my cup, spoon, in an orange jumpsuit, holding some fruit and a book.

“Where are they?! WHERE ARE THEY?!!!!!!!!!!!” the lead guy screamed from behind his shield.

“Right there!” I shrieked pointing to them on the edge of the desk.












2 blue pills.

Advil.

I had told the nurse I would take them later when I was ready to go to sleep.

As I had not ingested them, the nurse went and told the Captain of the guard who suited up the SWAT team and raided my cell an hour later.

Though only Advil, it was considered hording medication.

In their overreacting defense, a neighbor horded his multitude of meds. So yes, there was precedence. Medication not immediately ingested in front of the dispensing nurse is considered contraband.

“ARE YOU GOING TO TAKE THEM?” he screamed at me as it took him a minute to comically put down his shield, with 4 people behind him, me still standing on top of the desk, take off his glove and scoop up the pills.

“Uh, no. I don’t believe I will ever take Advil again,” I said calmly, with as much dignity as a 6′1 Black man in a polyester jumpsuit on top of a desk in fright can muster. My calmness, in the face of such bureaucratic moral midgetry seemed to have a withering effect on him.

He glared at me. I looked at the most people I believe you could fit standing up in the cell, with body armor on, and sort of just…..looked at them.

They looked at me.

They looked at each other.

They backed out slowly. In an oddly practiced backwards synchronized march.

“CLOSE 11!!” he screamed to the center office and my door closed and locked.

I stepped down off of the desk.





















Ironically this was not the first time, before I was 30, nor the last that I would be in the proximity of a fully body armored SWAT team.

Oh, I was only in jail for a few days from a misdemeanor charge that became a violation and fine.

Yeah….New York.

Uh…yeah.

www.kyle-phoenix.com

Smile, Kyle

KylePhoenixShow@Gmail.com

Kyle Phoenix on Facebook and Twitter

The Kyle Phoenix Show LIVE STREAMING on MNN.org 1130pm, Spectrum Cable Manhattan, NY Channel 56 & 1996, also FIOS 34 and RCN 83. 

Smile, Kyle KylePhoenixShow@Gmail.com

You can Like or; Follow Us on Facebook or;Twitter

Or Click Below to:

 Don't forget to watch The Kyle Phoenix Show LIVESTREAM on Channel 56 (Time Warner), 83 (RCN), 34 (Verizon) Thursdays 1130pm

Kyle Phoenix is a teacher, certified adult educator, sexologist, sex coach and sexuality educator with over two decades of intensive experience. He studied at the University at Buffalo, SUNY, New York University, and Columbia University. He has worked, consulted and taught individuals and focused professional developments for the CDC, Department of Education, Gay Men's Health Crisis, New York City Department of Health, non-profits, Fortune 500 companies and unions. He began his career facilitating on-campus workshops addressing a wide range of sexuality and sexual health issues and then moved on to teaching at universities, non-profits, private groups and clients, hosting The Kyle Phoenix Show on television and multiple online webinars, including YouTube and Sclipo and writing extensively through his blog, Special Reports, articles and other print and E books in the Kyle Phoenix Series on relationships, finance, education, spirituality and culture. He lives in New York with his family.

Smile, Kyle KylePhoenixShow@Gmail.com

You can Like or; Follow Us on Facebook or;Twitter

Or Click Below to:

1 view0 comments
bottom of page